× Search
Saturday, July 13, 2024

Originating in 1966, BVCOG serves the counties of Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Madison, Robertson and Washington. Click to learn more about Brazos Valley Council of Governments.

About the Brazos Valley Council of Governments

The Brazos Valley Council of Governments (BVCOG) is a multi-purpose voluntary organization of, by and for local governments. 

Originally designated as the federally recognized Brazos Valley Economic Development District in 1966, the council officially reorganized as the Brazos Valley Development Council in 1967 as the result of state legislation. The legislation created 24 statewide planning regions each comprised of a voluntary association of local governments. The regions’ boundaries were based upon a number of characteristics including geographic features, economic market areas, labor markets, commuting patterns, and even media coverage areas.

The BVCOG region consists of seven counties:

These regional planning organizations, defined by the Texas Legislature as “councils of governments,” are charged with addressing regional issues and opportunities and are reviewed biennially by the Governor of Texas. In 1997, the council’s Board of Directors voted to change the organization’s name to the Brazos Valley Council of Governments in order to more appropriately emphasize the cooperative spirit of the local governments and to reflect the legislative terminology.

Brazos Valley Council of Governments



Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2024 by the Brazos Valley Council of Governments
Back To Top