× Search
Sunday, September 24, 2023

The Solid Waste Advisory Committee is made up of representatives from all seven counties included in the Brazos Valley Council of Governments.

Solid Waste Advisory Committee

The BVCOG Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) is made up of representatives from the 7 county region.

The committee meets quarterly (First Thursday of the quarter) to discuss solid waste management issues important to the Brazos Valley region.  The SWAC includes ex-officio members the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) project manager assigned to work with BVCOG and a designated representative of the TCEQ Waco Regional Office.

The SWAC meets quarterly to discuss solid waste activities in the region, solid waste management issues important to the region, new laws and regulations, opportunities for grants and funding, and other issues of concern.

Brazos Valley Council of Governments Solid Waste Advisory Committee Representation





*Samantha Best - Chairperson
Nathan Jones
Eric Zaragoza
*Ron Schmidt
Pete Caler

BVSWMA, Inc./Private Sector
Texas A&M University
City of Bryan
Brazos County/Private Sector
City of College Station


Thomas Trnka
Danny Segundo
Robbie Myers

City of Caldwell
City of Somerville
Burleson County


Erik Covarrubias
Katherine Lee
Hon. Barbara Walker

City of Navasota
Grimes County
Grimes County Commissioner


Hon. David Grimes
Winter Adams
Hon. Jerrod Jones
Zach Young
Novalene Thurston
Amari Jones

Leon County Commissioner
Leon County
Mayor City of Buffalo
Leon County
Leon County
Leon County


Hon. Carl Cannon
Frankie Smith
Hon. Carl Wiseman

Madison County Commissioner
City of Madisonville
Madison County Commissioner 


Walter Qualls
Charles Palcer

Robertson County
Robertson County


Mark Marzahn
Delbert Boeker

Washington County
City of Brenham


Brenda Britt
Anju Chalise
Jessica Uramkin
Regan White

(Ex-Officio) TCEQ-Austin
(Ex-Officio) TCEQ-Austin
(Ex-Officio) TCEQ-Austin
(Ex-Officio) Small Business and Local Government-Waco

Justification for the level of private industry membership on the committee Article IV, Section 2 of the Regional SWAC Bylaws state, “The membership of the Committee shall be composed of representatives from solid waste management related organizations and agencies, elected officials, minority groups, and the general public.  The number of members and percentage of representation from the various areas of concern and citizen interest will be determined by the Board of Directors annually to conform to any mandate(s) by funding agencies.  Members may represent more than one area of expertise.”  BVCOG feels that this is an adequate representation of the Solid Waste Advisory Committee. 

*Private industry

Brazos Valley Council of Governments



Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2023 by the Brazos Valley Council of Governments
Back To Top